Be a light…..

  

Be a light unto yourself; betake yourselves to no external refuge. Hold fast to the Truth. Look not for refuge to anyone besides yourselves.
–Buddha

 

 

No-one can live your life but you.
No-one can live my life but me.
You are responsible.
I am responsible.
–Maezumi Roshi
    

Anyone who’s reading this won’t understand why this is important – because I’ve not been writing recently about all the stuff that’s being going on and how I’ve been feeling about it. That’s not changing here, either, sorry. You’ll just have to wonder, I’m sure your imaginations can come up with much more exciting drama than the reality anyway! :)Today, I’m trying to focus myself. Stop frittering around and worrying about all that’s going on or may go on later……………     

I’m even trying to be mindful of washing dishes, like Thich Nhat Hanh suggests. I don’t agree with him that dishwashers don’t have a place! 🙂

I started off the morning feeling all miserable, addled and confused again – being exhausted and being woken up with a serious back pain at 7am by the kidlets didn’t help that :). By trying to be more mindful I’ve managed to focus on what’s really important.. right now…. the fact that thedishes need washing, the shopping needs doing, the kids need entertaining, the dinner needs cooking….. and dealing with those tasks one by one, trying not to think about the next while I’m doing one, just being totally mindful of what I’m doing right then.

Without the worry of what might happen later, I’m feeling much better! It’s simple really, isn’t it?

Perhaps I’m starting to get somewhere.

Or, better still, nowhere.

:o)

 

Tags:

About Sas Taylor

Yorkshire lass in Brum | wife | mother | homebased zoo keeper | ex-nurse | wonky thinker | photographer | macro iPhoneographer | that there @b31blog thing

Leave a Reply

